A Remake Worth Fighting For

By: Victoria Sogueco

When I was younger, I wanted to be Mulan. She was a princess that I immediately identified with: she was brave, smart, tough, beautiful, was a bit tomboyish but still sang, and was always late. She was a mix of who I wanted to be and who I was. Plus, her singing voice was provided by Lea Salonga and I could be her for Halloween without anyone batting an eye.
As I grew older, I realized that the costume that I got when I was five wouldn’t fit me anymore. So I decided that I’d get a real one by playing Mulan in a live-action movie.
Now the time has come. But I’m not too happy about it.
Personally, I don’t see why we need to make live-action versions of the movies that many of us watched growing up. Disney is filled with extremely creative employees who are certainly capable of coming up with a good story, and I also feel that it’s unfair to kids growing up now who are stuck exploring the same worlds that we did years ago.
But I went with it. Disney knows what they’re doing, I told myself. It’ll be great.
A quick search on Google shows that the remake won’t be a musical and will probably not feature Li Shang. To me, the music was what made it a Disney movie. The soundtrack to Mulan was basically the soundtrack to my childhood. Without the music, it’s just a live adaptation of the Ballad of Mulan.
I know that for some it’s just a movie, but for me it was a huge chunk of my life. While I want younger girls and boys to watch the movie and know that they can, I feel that it’s unfair to give them a sort of hand-me-down story.
Hopefully on November 2, 2018, all of my doubts will disappear.

Photo:

https://fanart.tv/movie/10674/mulan/

Leave a Reply

